Perfect Beef Stew for Fall

For lunch today I made a beef stew, and it turned out so well I wanted to write down what I did (I usually cook stews/soups off taste and they are never the same) and share it with you all.

Fall Beef Stew:

In a soup pot brown 1-2 lbs ground beef.

Chop one onion and through in with beef as it’s browning.

chop and add 4 carrots, 4 parsnips, 4 turnips and celery to your liking.

Add two cans diced tomatoes. Fill you pan to just cover the meat and veggies with water or beef broth(or more if you want more of a soup vs a thick stew). I buy Organic beef broth paste from Costco, so I use water and that. Season with salt, pepper, garlic and a pinch of thyme. Let cook over med heat until veggies are done.

Everyone liked it, even my pick soup eater 🙂 It has a delightful spicy sent, but the turnips cooked up enough to fool the kids into thinking they were potatoes…. A win in my book. It’s fast, simple and add some homemade bread or corn bread and dinner (or a hot lunch) is done quickly. Is healthy and perfect for cold fall/winter weather.

1425801_10200940887901369_1693829434_n

 

Leave a Reply

